Home > Gaming > Xbox One > Xbox One launching in 26 new countries in September
Xbox One

Xbox One launching in 26 new countries in September

Will availability in more markets increase the sales numbers of the struggling Xbox One?

Xbox-One 2

The Xbox One is currently available in thirteen markets worldwide, which is a paltry number when you consider that Sony is selling the PlayStation 4 in 53 countries. Microsoft is looking to fix that and has announced that the Xbox One will be available in 26 new territories in the third quarter of 2014.

Further details regarding the availability of the consoles in these regions will be announced next month. The list of countries that the Xbox One will be available include Argentina, Belgium, Chile, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Greece, Hungary, India, Israel, Japan, Korea, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, and the UAE.

Microsoft has lagged behind Sony in the next-gen console sales. Sony announced last month that it had crossed the 5 million PlayStation 4 sales target it had set for itself. Microsoft meanwhile sold less than twice as many Xbox One consoles. However, console life cycles usually tend to last at least six years, so even if Sony has the early lead, Microsoft can get back into contention by making the Xbox One available in more territories.

Source: Xbox News

Harish Jonnalagadda
Harish Jonnalagadda is an avid reader of science-fiction novels. A long-time Arsenal fan, his other interests include gaming, basketball and making music. He also likes tinkering with hardware in his free time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Read previous post:
Google announces Android OS for wearable devices

Instead of launching a single smartwatch, Google has announced a new platform for wearable devices called Android Wear.